The Saint-Petersburg State Institute of Technology


The Saint-Petersburg State Institute of Technology was founded on November 28, 1828 during the first years of the reign of Emperor Nicholas I, and later in 1896, the Institute was named after him.

Today, the Saint-Petersburg State Institute of Technology (Technical University) presents new cutting-edge materials for modern branches of science and technologies in the following fields: Rocket-and-Space Technology, Information Technology, Materials Science, Functional Materials, Medicine, Healthcare, Life Sustenance of Human Beings and Environment;
composite, pyrotechnical, high-temperature,SAA Surface Active Agents, reparative, paints and lacquers, adhesive, carbon, biological, medicinal, superconducting, optoelectronic and nanomaterials;
Software Products, Command Facilities, machines and devices of complex chemical-engineering systems.


  • 28 academicians and corresponding members of Russian and International Academies of Sciences
  • 10 winners of State awards and awards of the Council of Ministers
  • 12 honoured workers of science and engineering
  • 125 professors and Dr. Sc.
  • 560 associate professors and Ph.Ds
  • Over 5000 students
  • 8 faculties
  • 4 departments
  • 59 specialized departments (including 35 graduate departments)

Address: Saint-Petersburg, 190013, Moskovsky prospect, 26

Faculty 1 - Chemistry of Substances and Materials

The Faculty has 13 Departments:

  • General Chemical Technology and Catalysis
  • Electrochemistry
  • Chemical Engineering and Materials for Electronics
  • Physical Chemistry
  • Inorganic Chemistry
  • Colloid Chemistry
  • Analytical Chemistry
  • Material Science
  • Chemical Technology of Silicate Materials


Faculty 2: Chemical and Biotechnology

 The Faculty has 11 Graduate Departments:

  • Molecular Biotechnology
  • Technology of Microbiological Synthesis
  • Chemistry and Technology of Synthetic Biologically Active Compounds
  • Chemical Technology of Organic Dyes and Phototropic Compounds
  • Technology of Petrochemical and Coal Chemical Industry
  • Chemical Technology of Plastics
  • Chemical Technology of Organic Coatings
  • Chemistry and Technology of Rubber
  • Resource-Saving Technologies
  • Organic Chemistry
  • Chemical Technology of Sorbents


Faculty 3: Mechanical Engineering

The Faculty has 6 Departments:

  • Equipment and Robotechnics of Plastics Processing
  •  Machinery and Equipment for the Chemical Industry
  • Optimization of Chemical and Biotechnological Processes
  • Theoretical Mechanics
  • Engineering Design
  • Processes and Machinery

Faculty 4: Information Technology and Control

The Faculty has following Departments:

  • Chemical Engineering Control
  • Computer-Aided Design and Control Systems
  • Information Systems in Chemical Technology
  • Mathematics

Faculty 5: Chemical Engineering

The Faculty has nine Departments:

  • Chemistry and Technology of Organic Nitrogen Compounds
  • Chemistry and Technology of High Molecular Compounds
  • Radiation Technology
  • Technology of Rare and Dispersed Elements
  • High-Energy Processes
  • Radioecology and Radiochemical Engineering
  • Chemical Energetics
  • Physics
  • Environmental Engineering

Faculty 6: Economics and Management

The faculty has eleven departments:

  • Management and Marketing
  • Economics and Industrial Engineering
  • HR and Advertising Management
  • Finance and Statistics
  • Economics and Logistics
  • National History, Science and Culture
  • Foreign Languages
  • Russianlanguage (as a Foreign Language)
  • Sociology
  • Physical Education
  • Philosophy

100% Confidential & Secure!